PETALING JAYA: Independent men’s doubles pair Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi captured their first title in four years after defeating China’s Huang Kaixiang-Liu Cheng in the Thailand Masters.

They put up a gallant fight to pull off a sensational 18-21,21-17,21-17 win in a thrilling 72-minute final match at the Huamark Indoor Stadium in Bangkok on Sunday (Jan 26).

Kaixiang-Liu Cheng had earlier beaten national No. 1 Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik (first round) and 2016 Rio Olympic Games silver medallists Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (semi-finals) but they finally found their match in Yew Sin-Ee Yi.

Yew Sin-Ee Yi last won a title at the 2016 Bitburger Open in Germany but the match was their first as an independent pair and comes just three weeks after they were dropped by Badminton Association Malaysia (BAM).


Men’s singles: Angus Ng Ka Long (Hkg) bt Kenta Nishimoto (Jpn) 16-21,21-13,21-12.

Men’s doubles: Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi (Mas) Huang Kaixiang-Liu Cheng (Chn) 18-21,21-17,21-17.

Women’s singles: Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) bt An Se-young (Kor) 21-16,22-20.

Women’s doubles: Chen Qingchen-Jia Yifan (Chn) bt Baek Ha-na-Jung Kyung-eun (Kor) 17-21,21-17,21-15.

Mixed doubles: Marcus Ellis-Lauren Smith (Eng) bt Hafiz Faizal-Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja (Ina) 21-16,13-21,21-16.

All copyrights for this article are reserved to The Star